Namdeo Dhasal’s Poem

thank you manya 🙂

sotosay

Namdeo Dhasal’s iconic poem in Dilip Chitre’s translation:

Cruelty

I am a venereal sore in the private part of language.
The living spirit looking out
of hundreds of thousands of sad, pitiful eyes
Has shaken me.
I am broken by the revolt exploding inside me.
There’s no moonlight anywhere;
There’s no water anywhere.
A rabid fox is tearing off my flesh with its teeth;
And a terrible venom-like cruelty
Spreads out from my monkey-bone.

Release me from my infernal identity.
Let me fall in love with these stars.
A flowering violet has begun to crawl towards horizons.
An oasis is welling up on a cracked face.
A cyclone is swirling in irreducible vulvas.
A cat has commenced combing the hairs of agony.
The night has created space for my rage.
A stray dog has started dancing in the window’s eye.
The beak of an ostrich has begun to break open…

View original post 3,135 more words

About teevramadhyam

'I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity' -Poe
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

